Our Kids are Learning to be A$$holes Because of us

In most online situations, I like to keep my mouth shut. I give people the benefit of the doubt with posts, with comments, and often help them rely on the fact that it’s online and they wouldn’t do those things in person. I also like to stay focused on positive things, and arguments often are negative thoughts that I don’t like to let become things. However, I can’t handle it anymore. A few months back my friend Keith Privette reshared a picture from one of his Facebook friends. The picture was of a man in the crowd at a baseball game. The man was overweight with a jersey on. The friend of Keith’s had commented that the “player (who’s name was on the back) really let himself go.” Keith reshared this photo and called out the guy for being an adult bully. Commendable. Right?! I mean, I see that stuff all the time and don’t even think twice about it. But, Keith really opened my eye to this situation and it’s really time that people start putting their foot down.

So today, an old co-worker of mine posted a picture on Facebook. Same situation. Here is a screen shot:

Image

I couldn’t let it happen anymore. Seriously, we are MEAN to other people. I know it’s the internet and it’s just the circle of friends we have who sees this, but it’s becoming an epidemic. We are teaching our future generation that it is okay to post pictures of other people and say mean things about them.

I don’t want it to be okay. I don’t want people to stop (or cease) commenting on things like this for fear of losing friends. Sure, immediately following this I was defriended by the person. I usually take this stuff personally, but I am done. I am done being nice about this. I am done doing this in my head. I am done making judgments about people I have never even talked to in my life.

My brother said another astounding thing to me the other day as well. Tony said, “People are going to look back at this time (in reference to gay marriage) and think that we are the biggest jerks like we do when we made black people sit in the back of the bus.” WOW! I never looked at it this way. He is totally right. People who are different than us or people that are minorities get picked on or treated differently because it’s not like us? I can’t even read/watch ‘The Help” because it makes me so sick to see how people were treated. Aren’t we just doing the same thing in the cyber world? When did this become okay? I am done with it. Are you?

One thought on “Our Kids are Learning to be A$$holes Because of us

  1. I completely agree. Just because we can, doesn’t me we should. Ever. Being online, somewhat out of public view (i.e. you won’t physically get punched in the face), makes it so easy for people to jot down a biting, snotty, bigoted, racist and just plain mean comment about someone they have never met and have no idea what they are dealing with or what their day has been like.

    Which leaves me to conclude there is a huge percentage of the adult population who are stuck at 12 years old. It will only stop when people stop engaging in or encouraging such bad online behavior.

    As for the whole gay marriage debate, I’m voting NO to the marriage amendment November 6th. To vote YES would just be plain mean.

Leave a Reply

